Listening to Piece of Cake by Barenaked Ladies

It’s not every day that your favorite band releases a new album, and I’m all in for Silverball. It’s a very impressive 12th album, the first of the three without Steven Page that really feels whole. As much as it pains me to say, I wasn’t a fan of, 2013’s Grinning Streak, which might have had something to do with the proximity of it’s release to my life imploding (there wasn’t much about 2013 that I did like, besides Frozen), but I felt it wasn’t worthy of the raw emotions pouring out of 2010’s All In Good Time.

Silverball is different, maybe it’s the pinball theme (which rocks), maybe it’s the fact that it doesn’t sound like anything they’ve done it before, but it still sounds exactly like them, if that makes sense. I realize that’s not very descriptive, but I’m leaving it there for now. Ask me to elaborate in a few days after a few spins (or after Red Rocks next week). It looks like I’ll have to go to Best Buy to score the “complete album,” however. (I didn’t know they still sold CDs at Best Buy)

Ultimately, It’s a bittersweet for me, because it’s the first BNL album I won’t listen to with my mom.

Listening to Piece of Cake by Barenaked Ladies

Preview it on Path

Leave a Reply

