Eight Years Ago Today (well, yesterday, depending on your time zone)

I’m going to steal liberally from my earlier this evening twitter feed (conveniently located to your right, if you’re so inclined to turn your head, or just read this, you lazy bastard.)

A Tweet showed up on my feed that sparked a memory chain.

This one:

Eight years ago today, while I was working at Mile High Comics, I received a phone call from my dad. He was excited. More excited than I’d ever heard him before. Giddy. He was watching an Apple event. Steve Jobs was announcing the iPhone, and my dad was describing in detail everything it was going to do. We talked frequently about Jobs around this time, as he had just completed the sale to Disney. “He’s the new Walt Disney,” he proclaimed. I disagree, John Lasseter is the new Walt Disney, Steve Jobs is the Ub Iwerks, the guy pushing the technology and innovation so Disney could do disney things. Or something like that.

I know I immediately looked up the presentation and was blown away. And then I stopped. No, I didn’t immediately look up the presentation. I COULDN’T look up the presentation, at least not on my Nokia flip phone. As soon as I got home, I looked it up, on my 2004 MacBook whatever it was, and then my brain exploded.

It changed everything, the phone, it really did, speaking for everyone and all that. But for me personally, it took a random drawing of a girl I did while bored at work, who may or may not be based on my friend Star, and now it’s on the set of a high rated ABC FAMILY series (and an NBC series staring the future Olaf, who loves warm hugs, that was canceled immediately), so I guess that’s pretty cool. (It’s really cool)

Even more importantly, the iPhone, changed my entire life and the way I communicate with, well, everyone. I had Twitter, but I didn’t USE Twitter until the iPhone made it easier. And..

I’ve stated more than once in many many many places, the importance of the contacts I made on twitter to me and my life. Not just the people who migrated from Twitter to my actual life, or the old friends I was able to catch up with because of Twitter, but the online friends who, despite not knowing them (for realz), became incredibly important to me.

The last few years haven’t been the best, in all terms, and the fact that I can point to people, who kept me going in times I didn’t think I would ever be able to keep going again. I hope they know who they are and what they mean to me, and if they don’t, I hope they know who they are and what they mean to me. (That was a cheat, but I’m leaving it). Thank you guys, I really mean it.

I think this is my favorite post where I go from calling people lazy bastards to thanking them for being important to me. But I have 11 more months of these, so I might have the chance to try again.

Leave a Reply

