Take Two.

Alright, so for this attempt, I’m going to try something, different. Although, It’s not really that different at all, it’s still kind of different enough to warrant me writing this overly long sentence. Probably not. The suggestion came from one of my personal writing hero’s Dan Harmon, creator of the greatest show currently on television (or.. currently on hiatus), Community. Mister Harmon suggested one of the ways to get to the good writing is to do it, well, drunk. Because at that specific point you lessen your guard about what you allow yourself to believe is good or bad about your writing and just really allow yourself to, well, to write. Similar to what Aaron Sorkin (another writing hero of mine) refers to as the 4AM Miracle in one of his episodes of Studio 60. Pretty much the idea is, let your guard down and just let your creative center, something something or something.

And that makes good writing, clearly.

The problem with this for me, is… I’ve just never been able to do it. Drinking for me generally results in me talking faster (yes) and wanting to hug everybody before falling asleep. Also my hand movements while talking tend to sometimes find their way into accidentally hitting people. Since learning more ASL, I’ve noticed I’ll start unconsciously (yes, not subconsciously, thank you) signing when drinking. I fear of being offensive in someway from this.

So, anyway, what was I hoping to get from this? I really have no idea. It sounded like a cool idea. Well, no, not really, but it sounded like a challenge. And if this works, who knows, maybe I’ll do my next post high on prescription drugs or something. (That is a joke and a reference to Studio 60). Studio 60, for the record, one of my favorite shows because it deals with a writer trying to write and what exactly that means. That’s a terrible analogy. On the same token, I want to see Jason Reitman’s Young Adult because it is also about a crazy writer. Also, I think Diablo Cody and Jason Reitman are two of the smartest young writer/directors working today, working together or not.

Anyway, so, where do I go from here? Do I want to go dark? Deal with my personal insecurities about my life and the fact that I literally have days left in my thirties? And how this thought scares me, because I thought I would’ve accomplished so much more by the this time.. Or how I haven’t been in a serious relationship for over 2 years now? I mean, it’s not like I haven’t attempted, but really have I? Or have I just purposefully put myself into situations that would never work out because it lessons the chance of having something not work out further down the line? How would I know, I’m not a character in a Nicholas Sparks novel, because I’m somehow implying that characters in Nicholas Sparks novels can see the future? I guess.

There’s better things ahead for me. I have a plan for this year, and things I’m trying to get done before I enter into my next year plus one digit year, or at least that’s always been the plan, however plans my fall, or not fall or change or whatever they’ll end up doing in some cosmically out of my control way. Sometimes things happen and they might bum me out, but, you really can’t do much about them except accept and move forward. Which is the healthy blah blah blah, duh, of course that’s what you should do way of dealing with things. It doesn’t make it any less difficult by any means, but, that’s just the way it goes, I suppose. (what am I, rhyming now?)

And.. well, that’s just about it. So, if you read this, I applaud you, because I’m certainly never going to look at this again, so at least one of us did.

I’ll be honest with you, sometimes I really just want to make jokes about Forces of Nature.

That statement really has nothing to do with anything. It doesn’t make it any less true.

Leave a Reply

