The Trouble with Twitter:

Now, as I’m writing this, I sit on the cusp of 900 followers. This number will alternate and float over the next few days with the influx and outflux of confused Eurasian Teens, who still can’t seem to understand that Kevin Pieterson, the renowned cricketer would probably not have Kevin the bird (girl) from Up as his avatar. But that’s a topic for another day.

Out of 900 followers, I regularly converse with.. 30 of them? Out of that 30.. lets say, half I know in real life. Out of that half are people who I regularly talk to ANYWAY; I don’t need Twitter to talk to them, but we still use (abuse) Twitter for communicating. And I am fond of reconnecting with people, people who I thought would never talk to, or see again.

I’ve made very good use of Twitter. All…5..(6..?) of my Twitter interactions that have carried over into real life friendships have ended up  very important to me. I am no longer hesitant in establishing more carryover contact.  I wish I lived closer to some of my other regular Twitter pals.

I’ve given a lot of thought to how I use Twitter. I know that If I was actually a girl (sorry If you thought otherwise) I’d have double, or more, followers. Granted, most of those followers would be creepy weirdos with cartoon character avatars, but I’d still have more.

I think my main problem is my lack of focus. I don’t have a specific “thing” or even a main thing. If I decided to focus specifically on Disney or Harry Potter or Comics or Music or iPhones or Pictures or whatever, I could build a solid follower base. I can’t do that though, it would be disingenuous to me. All of that, together, is me. I could have multiple accounts, I tried it for a while, but I found my focus was too divided. This is the way it is, and much like everything about me, either you get it or you don’t. And yes, it does hurt my feelings when people who have been friends with me for years suddenly UNFOLLOW me. But I try and understand that maybe, maybe they just don’t get it, and then it doesn’t really bother me as much.

Yes, I’d love it if I had more followers, or If some of the people I follow would talk to me, or even if some of the people who FOLLOW me would talk to me more, or even at all.

But, it doesn’t matter. I’m content with what I’ve built up. I don’t really need more.

After all, it’s just Twitter.

Leave a Reply

