…follow up…

So, why exactly am I so bad at proofreading?

Because I don’t actually do it.

A line I steal from one of my favorite writers is “That’s the editor’s job.”

But that’s not the truth.

I write the thing and then when it’s done I close it and never look at it again.

I can’t. I hate my words. I don’t like the way they look. I don’t like the way they flow. And I’ll keep changing them and rearranging them until they reach a perfection that I won’t allow myself to achieve.

It goes back to me not believing i’m any good at writing.

But, like I said, I can’t get away with that anymore. Too many people tell me otherwise. I have to believe it or people will start to get annoyed with me.

Strangely enough, I’m really good at proofreading other people’s stuff.  I like to do it that. I’m not good with giving others criticism.

I’m really good at helping with re-writes, or rephrasing sentences that don’t work. Adding lines. I’m a good collaborative writer.

It sounds like i’m applying for a writing job that no one is offering me.

I want to write a book with my friend Amanda. It will be one long rambling in-joke. It won’t make any sense to anyone besides us. It will be amazing.

Leave a Reply

