I’m really not good at coming up with titles for these things.  I’m good for one clever title out of ten posts.

Today will be the last day I’ll be able to enjoy an extended and substantial hike in warm weather. This saddens me.

I came up with like ten ideas for blog posts, mini articles and so on. We’ll see if any of this comes to fruition.

I’d like to do a thing about the recently wrapped up Brand New Day stories, but the amount of research involved is comparable to the amount of work I’d have to do for a research paper.

My biggest idea, which I’ve been trying to do FOREVER is a detailed overview on every Disney movie. I want to show people why each film is important. Why each film matters. Especially the last few, and especially some of the 1940’s & 1950’s Potpourri films. However: That’s 50 Films. That’s a lot of time. I could jump around and only do the films I really want to examine first, but that means I’ll never get around to Make Mine Music or Fox And The Hound.

While I’m on this, let me point out that I do not like this extension of the “Modern Disney Golden Age” to Tarzan. No way. If you’re going to extend it, it needs to include Fantasia/2000, the greatest example of Animation as an art form, and Lilo and Stitch, the last truly great traditionally animated film. That particular “Golden Age” started in 1986 with Basil and ended in 1994 with The Lion King.

Pocahontas – Home On The Range (1995-2004) is what I would call the Experimental Era wherein Disney tried every single type of genre imaginable to little commercial success. Successful in their artistic approach, yes, but due to unfortunate marketing decisions the films come off as, well, over marketed.  Despite that, each of these films, every single one of them, is a gem worth exploring.

Not every classic Disney classic was a hit either. Sleeping Beauty didn’t earn a profit until about 30 years after release. Fantasia took even longer to make its money back.

For the record,  The Dark Era (2005) contains only one film, Chicken Little, the film that proved that Disney didn’t need Pixar and they could make just as successful of films without them.  It was such a success that the Chairman of Disney lost his job and his replacement’s first decision was buying Pixar (placing Steve Jobs as the largest shareholder of Disney) and put the Pixar team in charge of Disney Animation.

The New Era (2007 Onwards) is where we currently reside.  Meet The Robinsons, Bolt, and Princess and the Frog are all examples that the newly rechristened Disney Animation Studios is heading towards in right direction, if they can keep the marketing department away from changing the names of their films.

How did this turn into a Disney discussion? Oh, because that’s how every conversation with me goes.

Leave a Reply

